Skip to main content

Tribeca Flashpoint Info Commons: Research Databases

The homepage of the Tribeca Flashpoint College Info Commons/Library

Library Research Basics

Where do you start with a research project? Google? Wikipedia? (You've been told not to use that one!) 

Find reliable resources and information using the tools listed here rather than surfing the web.

Questions? Want to consult with a librarian? Contact infocommons@tribecaflashpoint.edu or scroll down and to the left for a chat window.

Start Your Research with Credo

Reference sources are used for, well, reference. This usually means that you need just a slice of information--a date, name of a place or person, or quick background information. Here are some examples of reference sources:

  • Encyclopedias 
  • Handbooks/manuals
  • Dictionaries
  • Almanacs
  • Yearbooks
  • Index 

Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 200 videos.

 

Credo Logo

Chat Live with the Library!

Find articles for your research

Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system and is not limited to particular languages or subject areas. The Directory aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access academic journals—regardless of size and country of origin—thereby promoting their visibility, usage and impact.

Breaking News!!